Founders Memorial Scholarship

We are pleased to present our 2022-23 Scholarship Recipients: Sabine Roser, Peera Serumaga, Amelia Rossbach, and Matylda Jamroz   

In 1951, the Founders' Memorial Scholarship was established, commemorating the 60th anniversary of The Nineteenth Century Club's founding. In 1953, $500 scholarships were awarded annually to Oak Park and River Forest High School graduates. These scholarships were renewable for four years of college. 

In 2016, the awards were increased to grant four students $2,000 per year for a total of $8,000 over a four-year period. For the 2022-23 school year, $34,000 in total scholarships will be awarded to 16 Scholars. 

Our current recipients attend 

  • Bradley University
  • Cornell University
  • Dartmouth College
  • Grinnell College 
  • Goshen College
  • Illinois State University
  • Northwestern University
  • Syracuse University
  • Tulane University
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Wisconsin/Madison

In the seventy+ years that we have provided these scholarships, we have helped more than 250 students attain higher education. The Scholarship Committee holds interviews in March of each year at the high school. We partner with teachers and counselors in encouraging students to apply. Applicants are chosen on the basis of financial need, academic excellence, community service, an essay, and written recommendations. The number of scholarships given are determined, in part, by fund-raising activities and interest earned from the Scholarship Memorial Trust Fund.  At the end of the school year, all scholarships are presented at a special recognition ceremony at the high school.

We have received many letters over the years from former recipients attesting to the importance of the financial help given to them. We hope to continue assisting the young people of the community by helping to provide the means of going to college.

If you would like to support the Scholarship Fund, Donate here at any time.